Event: KleinFeld Class Tour "Say Yes to the Dress"

Last week my Fashion Design Class and I was granted a trip to the famous bridal flagship store Kleinfeld, where the TLC show “Say Yes to the Dressis taken place and filmed. I was never the “average girl” who dreamed up her big wedding with the extravagant wedding dress, but being at Kleinfeld surrounded by all the beautiful wedding dresses triggered those thoughts inside me. We toured the whole Kleinfeld building which is bigger than what meets the eye, the store is 35,000 square feet which spreads out over two floors in Manhattan’s Chelsea. Our tour was lead by the sweet owner and president of Kleinfeld Bridal, Mara Urshel. The time spent there was incredible and inspiring and it ended well which nearly left me in tears by the surprise that they kept from my class and I. They revealed to us that we will be competing against one another in a wedding dress design contest. The winner of the contest will have their dress design come to life and produced. I WAS EXCITED AND SPAZZING at the same time. I must win! This is an opportunity that has been presented to me so early in my life and I must work hard call it mine. Here are some photographs of my experience. –sabla`

There’s a total of 28 bridal selection rooms and 17 private fitting rooms equipped with a personal consultant to make sure your dress is perfect. Each fitting room is something like an office to every consultant with photographs of their loved one, each room has it’s own personality. There are event VIP fitting rooms to accommodate large parties and celebrities.

I have to admit the men’s section of Kleinfeld Bridal excited me so much, I was the last one to come out. Everything in there was so beautiful.

Click “Read More” above to view all of photos.

Almost all the furniture and pieces such as the one above in Kleinfeld is antique or personally designed. The Men’s department was filled with so many beautiful antique pieces.

FACT: “Kleinfeld has the largest custom sewing workroom in the tri-state area accommodating more than 90 seamstresses, beaders, pressers, and fitters.” You don’t see something like this in America often.

The GOLD! I had to take a picture.

Mara Urshel speaking to us
We ran into two guys who are responsible for all the mannequins and fixtures in Kleinfeld. They were in the middle of redoing mannequins by sanding down and painting them for a new display

Before they revealed the surprise Design contest to us.
-Thank you Mara and the Kleinfeld crew for having us there, It was amazing.Sabla`

Leave a comment